HomeEvents&Programs › Awards › Contribution by a Non-Architect

Contribution to the Profession by a Non-Architect

AIA Pennsylvania is seeking nominations for the Award for Contribution to the Profession by a Non-Architect. The award goes to an individual, corporation, association, or other group; and will be presented at the Statewide Conference.

Recipients will be cited for their direct contributions to the profession such as a building program, public works project, book, theoretical or applied research in zoning, urban design, interiors, planning, energy conservation, preservation, restoration, transportation, industrial design, artistic endeavors, or other significant disciplines that have a strong influence on Architecture. Projects must be non-built contributions that benefit the built world or profession of Architecture.

This is an excellent opportunity for us to recognize excellent work that has helped us to be better architects. We encourage you to nominate worthy candidates. Only one award will be presented, and the selection will be made by AIA Pennsylvania’s board of directors.


  • David Leatherbarrow (2011)
  • John Andrew Gallery, The Preservation Alliance for Greater Philadelphia (2010)
  • Roger W. Moss, The Anthenaeum of Philadelphia (2007)
  • Dr. Graham Spanier, The Pennsylvania State University (2006)
  • Gunther O. Carrle, Esq., Powell Trachtman Logan Carrle & Lombardo (2006)
  • The Pittsburgh Cultural Trust (2006)
  • Chris Satullo, The Philadelphia Inquirer (2005)
  • Paul R. Levy, Executive Director of the Center City District in Philadelphia (1996)
  • Thomas Hagen, Erie (1993)
  • Thomas Hine, Philadelphia Inquirer (1992)
  • The Anthennaeum of Philadelphia (1990)
  • Hobart G. Cawood (1989)
  • George E. Thomas (1988)
  • Pittsburgh Architects Workshop (1986)
  • Architecture Career Explorer Post #920 from Pittsburgh (1985)