Pennsylvania Architecture Community Celebrated with Nearly 75 Honors

The Pennsylvania chapter of the American Institute of Architects is proud to announce the 2022 Architectural Excellence Awards, first revealed on November 17, 2022, with the premiere of the annual broadcast and return of the accompanying viewing parties hosted across the state. Nearly 75 honors were presented to firms and individuals across Pennsylvania for excellence in design, contributions to the profession of architecture, and commitment to the quality of the built environment. The broadcast premiere showcased honorees in five programs, including the Design Awards, Special Awards, Committee on the Environment (COTE) Awards, and Student Awards. Twenty-nine (29) architecture firms were honored with the 2022 EPiC Firm Recognition for their support and development of emerging professionals.

Twelve (12) Architectural Excellence Special Awards were presented, including the prestigious Medal of Distinction honoring Susan Maxman, FAIA, a pioneering force for women and sustainability in architecture. Tippetts/Weaver Architects was honored with the 2022 Architecture Firm Award. The Lancaster, Pennsylvania-based firm of 10 full-time staff is the smallest to receive the award in its 10-year history. The firm is also the first recipient of the award to lay claim to a female founder – Wendy Tippetts, AIA. 

As the recipient of the 50-Year/Timeless Architecture Award, the Allegheny County Courthouse, one of Pennsylvania’s oldest and most inconspicuously influential public buildings, was celebrated for its 134 years of continuous service to Pittsburgh. Additional honorees in the Special Awards program include:

  • Impact Designer Award | Emily Pierson-Brown, AIA
  • Emerging Professional Award | Paul Avazier, AIA, and Dario McPhee, AIA 
  • Associate Award | Melanie Ngami, Associate AIA 
  • Raymond J. Sinagra, AIA, Allied Trades Award | Keast & Hood 
  • Contribution to the Profession by a Non-Architect Award | Linda Metropulos
  • Government Award | Senator Tim Kearney, AIA, and Representative Milou Mackenzie 
  • COTE Government Award | Senator Carolyn Comitta 

Boston-based architect and educator Elizabeth Whittaker, AIA, Founder of MERGE Architects and Harvard Graduate School of Design Associate Professor, chaired the 2022 Architectural Excellence Design Awards Jury. Mimi Love of Utile and Nick Winton, AIA of AW-ARCH, rounded out the panel of jurors. From the 116 eligible submissions, the jurors whittled down their final review to 34 finalists and ultimately selected 20 projects by 12 Pennsylvania firms to receive an Architectural Excellence Design Award. Two out of three of the panel’s top selections, the Silver Medal recipients, went to projects by Philadelphia-based firm ISA; the third went to KieranTimberlake. The remaining 17 projects selected were honored with Design Awards at the Honor Award and Merit Award levels of commendation. Visit the Design Awards recipient gallery for details.

Six projects by six firms were selected for Architectural Excellence COTE Awards, recognizing achievements in the AIA Framework for Design Excellence measures indicating how buildings perform for the health and wellness of the occupants, communities, and the environments they serve. Jurors Jeffrey Geisinger, AIA, LEED AP, CPHC of Utile, Ashley Rao, AIA, LEED AP, CPHC of Leers Weinzapfel Associates, and Tamar Warburg, AIA, LEED AP BD+C of Sasaki convened to review the 33 eligible projects submitted to the program. One project stood out among the honorees to take the program’s top honor; Ballinger’s Kinesiology Building received the COTE Award of Excellence for achievements in the resources, change, integration, and energy measures. The project was also recognized with a Design Award for its achievements in preservation. Visit the COTE Awards recipient gallery for details.

AIA Pennsylvania also presented the annual Architectural Excellence Student Awards to students from each of Pennsylvania’s seven schools offering one or more National Architectural Accrediting Board-accredited architecture degree programs: Carnegie Mellon University, Drexel University, Marywood University, Penn State University, Thomas Jefferson University, Temple University, and the University of Pennsylvania. Visit the Student Awards gallery for the recipients.

AIA Pennsylvania extends gratitude to the following partners and sponsors for their support of the awards program, AIA Pennsylvania, and the architecture profession and industry: Fenner & Esler Insurance; Offit Kurman; MMP&S; OldCastle APG; Burke, Cromer, Cremonese; Langan; and HHM, Hersha Hospitality Management.

Additional thanks to this year’s viewing party sponsors and viewing party hosts, architecture firms from across Pennsylvania – Ballinger, Desmone, Fancy Parsley Architecture + Design, and Tippetts/Weaver architects.