Nominations Open for the 2023 Architectural Excellence Special Awards

Stream the documentary short featuring 2022 Special Award recipient, Tippetts Weaver Architects, honored with the Architecture Firm Award.

The AIA Pennsylvania Architectural Excellence Special Awards recognize significant achievements by members, non-members, civic leaders, allied professionals, and firms who contribute to the built environment and the advancement of the profession in the Commonwealth. We are accepting nominations from the AIA Pennsylvania membership for open Special Award categories through 11:59 pm Monday, June 5, 2023.

Visit the awards nomination site >


AIA Pennsylvania member-led firms are eligible and encouraged to self-nominate for the Architecture Firm Award and Impact Designer Award without the endorsement of an outside “primary nominator.”

Additionally, AIA Pennsylvania members eligible for a Special Award in the categories of Associate Award, Emerging Professional Award, Medal of Distinction, or Impact Designer are encouraged to co-self-nominate with the support of a “primary nominator, ” meaning nominees may fill out the nomination with the authorization of the “primary nominator.” Please reach out to an AIA member(s) in your network to request endorsement as the “primary nominator” based on the Special Award category nomination requirements outlined in the Call for Nominations documentation.

All 2023 Special Award recipients will be notified by mid-July. The 2023 Architectural Excellence Special Awards will be celebrated during the 2023 Architectural Excellence Awards Broadcast and Viewing Parties set for Thursday, November 16.


Fellowship | Build goodwill and show gratitude to your industry peers, mentors, and mentees.

Visibility | Be seen and evaluated by a prestigious group of your peers.

Credibility | Recipients are celebrated in the annual Architectural Excellence Awards Broadcast, recognized on, in press releases distributed to local/national media, and in the annual Year in Review & Architectural Excellence Showcase publication.


A special thanks to Langan for their continued support of the Special Awards!


Annually, AIA Pennsylvania accepts nominations from the membership for the following prestigious honors.

View past recipients >

Every year, AIA Pennsylvania recognizes one firm whose passion and practice have produced notable architecture for at least a decade. Deserving firms will have demonstrated excellence in design and leadership through any combination of the following criteria: the breadth and/or depth of their portfolio, a healthy firm culture, influence on the practice of architecture, exemplary outcomes for clients and/or society.

Stream the documentary short featuring 2022 recipient, Tippetts Weaver Architects >

The 50 Year Timeless Architecture Award recognizes a building that has endured the test of time and still resonates with the design community and the public.

Stream the documentary short featuring 2022 recipient, the Allegheny County Courthouse & Jail >

The Medal of Distinction is the highest award bestowed by AIA Pennsylvania upon a living AIA Pennsylvania member. The recipient shall have made contributions to architecture that transcend local boundaries and have been of benefit to the profession and citizens of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Stream the broadcast profile featuring 2022 recipient, Susan Maxman, FAIA >

The Government Award is given in recognition of significant contributions to, or particular support of, the profession and business of Architecture and/or the built environment. Anyone working in state or local government such as legislators, department secretaries, township officials, etc. are eligible for the award as an individual or specified group.

The Impact Designer Award recognizes a wide range of design disciplines held together by a common goal to design and create a better world through innovative, scalable, and measurable solutions. Impact design is rooted in the core belief that design can be used to create positive social, environmental, and economic change, and focuses on actively measuring impact to inform and direct the design process.

The Contribution to the Profession by a Non-Architect Award honors individuals, corporations, associations, or other groups who do not practice architecture. Recipients will be cited for their direct contributions to the profession such as a building program, a public works project, publications, theoretical or applied research in zoning, urban design, interiors, planning, energy conservation, preservation, restoration transportation, industrial design, artistic endeavors, or other significant disciplines which have had a strong influence on the field of architecture.

The Allied Trades Award, renamed in 2019 in honor of Raymond J. Sinagra’s collaborative, whatever-it-takes spirit and dedication to the AEC community, is presented for contributions to the built environment by a contractor, developer, civil engineer, or other allied professional. The award honors those professionals who bring architects’ work into reality and who uphold the tenets of design, sustainability and collaboration.

The Emerging Professional Award seeks to recognize the exceptional achievements and future promise of a licensed architect and to promote their continuing development. The applicant’s contribution to the profession can be through one or more of the following: design excellence, leadership in practice, leadership in education, or service to the profession or society.

The Associate Award recognizes an AIA Pennsylvania Associate who has demonstrated outstanding leadership, creativity, and significant contributions to their communities, the architecture profession, and the AIA.

View past recipients >


Annually, the Special Awards Nomination Task Force as well as members of the Emerging Professionals Committee – EPiC (Emerging Professional Award, Associate Award) and Government Affairs Committee/COTE (Government Award, COTE Government Award) are tasked with both putting forth nominees in their respective categories and deliberating on all nominees put forth in their respective categories to put forth a final slate of recommended Special Award recipients to the board for approval.

2023’s prestigious Special Awards Nomination Task Force includes:

  • Nancy Rogo-Trainer, FAIA | Chair
  • Christine Mondor, FAIA | Past Chair
  • Catherine (Katie) Broh, AIA | Committee on Design Representative
  • Roger Williams, AIA | AIA Pennsylvania President
  • Joe Biondo, FAIA
  • Antonio Fiol-Silva, FAIA
  • Rob Fleming, AIA
  • Dario McPhee, AIA
  • Emily Pierson-Brown, AIA
  • Soha St. Juste, AIA
  • Gary Weaver, AIA