Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Details Make the Design Work: Coordinating Structural and Architectural Requirements in Light-Frame and Hybrid Wood Buildings

February 23 - February 25

$40

About the Program

Light-frame multi-family construction continues to be extremely popular as demand for efficient residential structures increases in urban and suburban areas. Maximizing height and area while increasing exterior wall penetrations is becoming the norm to help achieve the most cost-effective and architecturally pleasing designs. As a result, proper and economical connection design and detailing have become even more critical to a project’s success.

Coordinating architectural and engineering requirements raise detailing challenges in demising walls, exterior walls, and floor-to-wall intersections. Fire protection, acoustics and strength requirements don’t always cooperate, and it is imperative to communicate the design solutions clearly to the contractor. This workshop will address common issues and questions regarding gravity and lateral detailing and coordination. It will also include a regional case study—featuring a different project in each of the four workshop timeslots—examining the final design details and lessons learned on a successful project to exhibit how the team achieved elegant, efficient, and constructible solutions.

 

LEARN MORE & REGISTER

 

This online event is being offered 4 times and features 4 separate case studies. Choose the best option that works with your schedule and interest.

Feb 23: 10:00 am – 12:30 pm EST
(7:00 am – 9:30 am PST)
Case Study: Wellington Project, Palm Beach, FL

Feb 25: 11:00 am – 1:30 pm EST
(8:00 am – 10:30 am PST)
Case Study: The Magdalena, Austin, TX

Feb 23: 2:00 pm – 4:30 pm EST
(11:00 am – 1:30 pm PST)
Case Study: Cirrus, Denver, CO

Feb 25: 3:00 pm – 5:30 pm EST
(12:00 pm – 2:30 PST)
Case Study: Hybrid Multi-Family, Bay Area, CA

 

MAIN EVENT PRESENTERS

James Sneed, Jr, Kimley Horn

JJ Sneed has more than 18 years of experience in the field of structural engineering. An Associate and Structural Practice Leader, he is responsible for the design, analysis, preparation and coordination of construction documents for high-rise structures in commercial office, hospitality, residential, and mixed-use developments. From conceptual design, schematics, design development, and construction documents, all the way through construction, he leads a team of design professionals in completing projects that meet both the design requirements and client expectations.

Nathan Hoffman, Sandman Structural Engineers

As the Housing Team Lead for Sandman Structural Engineering, Nathan has worked on a variety of housing structures in all parts of the U.S. His projects run the gamut of multi-family, senior assisted living, student, and hotel, with an emphasis on wood over concrete and steel podium structures. He is experienced in modular wood construction, having worked for a modular company as the Structural Engineer of Record and as a modular structural consultant. Nathan has a B.S. in Civil Engineering from ND State University.

Details

Start:
February 23
End:
February 25
Cost:
$40
Event Categories:
,