Back to News & Insights

Nominations open for the 2024 Architectural Excellence Special Awards

March 14, 2024
Frame from documentary short profiling 2023 Architecture Firm Award recipient, Moto

Recognize your firm, colleague, mentor, or mentee

The Architectural Excellence Special Awards recognize significant achievements by architects, civic leaders, industry professionals, firms, and organizations who contribute to the built environment and the advancement of the profession in the Commonwealth.

AIA Pennsylvania is accepting nominations from the AIA Pennsylvania membership for open Special Award categories through 11:59 pm Thursday, May 9, 2024.

Review opportunities and benefits of nominating, categories, and meet this year’s Nomination Task Force chaired by Joe Biondo, FAIA.

Changes for 2024 include the following category title adjustments:

  • Social Impact Award
    • Formerly the Impact Designer Award
  • Young Architect Award
    • Formerly the Emerging Professional Award
  • Emerging Professional Award
    • Formerly the Associate Award

Ready to nominate?

Complete details and eligibility, outlined in the Call for Nominations >
Start a new nomination or revive a past nomination >

Interested in past honorees?

2023’s recipient announcement >
Past recipient listing >

Stream last year’s Special Award features, including documentary shorts profiling Medal of Distinction recipient Alan Greenberger, Firm Award recipient Moto, and the Fisher Fine Arts Library, Timeless Architecture honoree.

Save the date

All 2024 Special Award recipients will be notified by late July. The Special Awards will be celebrated with the Architectural Excellence Awards Broadcast and Viewing Parties set for Tuesday, December 3, 2024.

Thank you

A special thanks to Langan for their continued support of the Special Awards program and our partners Fenner & Esler, Offit Kurman, Milber Makris Plousadis & Seiden (MMP&S), and Burke Cromer Cremonese (BCC) for their steadfast support of our awards programs and chapter.