AIA Fellowship

AIA Fellows are recognized with AIA’s highest membership honor for their exceptional work and contributions to architecture and society. Architects elevated to fellowship can be identified by the designation FAIA after their name. Only 3% of the AIA members have earned this prestigious distinction.


Maureen Guttman, FAIA, celebrates being inducted into the AIA College of Fellows at the Investiture ceremony | Photo Credit: Chloe Jackman Photography

Fellowship is extended to members with at least 10 cumulative years of architect membership. Members are nominated and elevated to the College of Fellows for their achievements in one of the six categories or objects of nomination outlined below.

Object One: Design, urban design, or preservation

Object Two: Practice Management, or Practice Technical Advancement

Object Three: Led the Institute, or a related organization

Object Four: Public service, government, industry, or organization

Object Five: Alternative career, volunteer work with organizations not directly connected with the built environment, or service to society

Object Six: Education, Research, Literature

Application resources

Annually, the national chapter of the AIA accepts applications for the College of FellowsThrough education and outreach, we encourage AIA Pennsylvania members to apply for fellowship to honor their achievements and contributions and connect to the AIA College of Fellows to advance their efforts to give back through leadership, mentorship, and service.

Our current regional representative to the College of Fellows, Christine Mondor, FAIA, serves as the liaison to Pennsylvania’s fellows. AIA Philadelphia Fellows Committee chair Michael Prifti, FAIA, is another resource for members across the state in their pursuit of fellowship.

Interested in fellowship? Get in touch

Application Details

Save the date to celebrate

Join us, AIA New York State, and AIA New Jersey annually at the AIA Conference on Architecture & Design for the AIA Tri-State Fellows Reception, a celebration of newly inducted fellows from Pennsylvania, New York, and New Jersey.

Pennsylvania’s Fellows

Meet the 98 Pennsylvania architects who have been elevated to Fellow dating back to 1990, sorted by their inductee class. For a complete history of the College of Fellows’ membership, visit the Red Book Directory.

More about Pennsylvania’s fellows


Maureen Guttman, FAIA


Daniel Rothschild, FAIA


Stefani Danes, FAIA

Billie Faircloth, FAIA

David Hollenberg, FAIA

Robert Kelly, FAIA

Brian Phillips, FAIA

Laura Finkel Stagner, FAIA


Jeff Goldstein, FAIA

Samuel Olshin, FAIA

David Schrader, FAIA

Jason Smith, FAIA


Michael Johns, FAIA

Dominique M. Hawkins FAIA

Louis A. Meilink, Jr. FAIA

Christine Mondor, FAIA


Jules Dingle, FAIA

George C. Skarmeas, FAIA

Kiki Bolender, FAIA


Michael D. Garz, FAIA

Robert S. Pfaffmann, FAIA

Gregory J. Scott, FAIA

Joseph N. Biondo, FAIA

1990-2016 Coming Soon